Neal Freeland

Engineering/marketing manager, family guy. My personal blog with a few work thoughts mixed in.

Grandpa died yesterday

leave a comment »

Perry Freeland, my dad’s dad, died yesterday in his nursing home in San Jose, CA shortly after slipping into a coma. He was 92 and had been suffering from Alzheimer’s. He is survived by his wife Evelyn of 60 years, children Jan Baggett and Jim Freeland (my dad), 4 grandchildren, 6 great gandchildren, and 1 great-great grandchild.
 
I think the last time I saw grandpa was 5 years ago just after my wedding. He never met his great-grandkids Zack and Amelia here in Seattle, which makes me regret how modern American life has distributed the family so widely. It also makes me appreciate how much effort my parents are making to move here from Oakland. We are definitely going to have to get grandma Freeland up here to see us all soon.
 
Perry spent WWII in Oaklahoma helping to make airplanes for the war effort. As a family man with 2 small kids he got an exemption from the draft. After the war he moved his famiily to San Mateo, CA and was an electrician for United Airlines for the rest of his working career. I don’t have many specific memories of him: he seemed to enjoy plunking around on his electric piano, watching tv, and telling corny old-timer jokes ("grandpa, it’s raining cats and dogs" "I know, I just stepped in a poodle"); he had bad dentures that gave him trouble at family dinners; and he was there at significant life events like Christmas and high school graduation.
 
Mostly I’m thinking of my dad right now and sending him my love, hoping to help him in some small way get through one of life’s trials.
Written by nealfreeland

February 11, 2006 at 2:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

