Neal Freeland

Engineering/marketing manager, family guy. My personal blog with a few work thoughts mixed in.

Live Search Club

with 43 comments

UPDATE: I have left Microsoft, but we did set up customer support. If you are having issues , please feel free to contact them here: http://club.live.com/Customer_Support.aspx
 
We launched our search loyalty program this weekend. Marketing search can often be a little dry, like trying to get someone excited about their dictionary, so we’ve decided to find ways to make it more fun. We’ve created several games that pose challenges and let you use search to help solve them. When you get an answer correct you get a little reward, often as a cool image search or instant answers. Even better, each time you complete a full game we give you tickets that you can redeem for small stuff like an mp3 download or save up for something bigger like an Xbox. This is really unique – usually you only get a chance to win a prize. In our program you win tickets everytime you play. This is why our slogan is "Changing the Game so Everybody Wins."
 
Take a look at Live Search Club (club.live.com) and see what you think. For me this has been one of the coolest things I’ve done in 5 years at Microsoft.
 
 
Written by nealfreeland

May 13, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is pretty cool. At first I wondered how this would be different from MSN games, but now I know. It\’s really just some games that promote Live Search and you can get some prizes at the same time. Pretty neat. It would be cool to, if MSN Games got Windows Live branded, which is what I first thought when I saw Live Search Club. This is pretty neat. I\’ll give it a try.

    Michael

    May 14, 2007 at 5:21 pm

  2. Cool stuff.

    Chris

    May 16, 2007 at 4:14 pm

  3. I agree.  THis is a pretty cool twist on these games.  My only problem is that I have nearly completed every game available and even though it says to check back we are adding new games everyday, I haven\’t seen a new game since May 18.  I have a feeling that most people will really get tired of checking back and finding nothing new if something doesn\’t change.

    JEREMY

    May 26, 2007 at 12:07 pm

  4. Undefined errors in all games this afternoon.
    I cannot play anything.
    Is the problem on my end or MSN\’s?

    Unknown

    May 30, 2007 at 9:43 am

  5. I have to agree with a previous commenter… the site promises all these great prizes for large numbers of tickets, but there\’s no possible way to win any of them due to the lack of games. I\’ve finished every puzzle in every game, and while it was enjoyable, it would be nice if there were new ones to play…

    Joel

    June 1, 2007 at 3:59 pm

  6. I ran out of games already, I think if they are not updated pretty quick there are going to be a whole lot of people who want an xbox and get really pissed when they are halfway there and they say sorry, you play too fast.  I see it as a way of keeping people from winning the prize too quickly.  They should have at least made enough games to win enough tickets to get  the highest prize and limit you on the number of total prizes per month or year, etc.  Oh well, good waste of a couple hours I guess…

    John

    June 12, 2007 at 12:56 pm

  7. It seems like a very clever initiative, but what is the point?  if MS is trying to reward me for search, why don\’t they just state that?  the games are a great way for MS to justify more ad dollars but it seems limited to me.  Why don\’t hey give me Microsoft Points insterad of tickets, then I can build up my currency and spend in Live MArketplace too?! 

    Unknown

    June 19, 2007 at 11:06 am

  8. i would like to say thank you to microsoft for doing a superb job with the games i played for 3 days on and off since i am on vacaction and i earned two copies of windows vista ultimate from just playing games.i have had zero problems with the games when using iternet explorer..i look forward to yalll adding more games and prizes in the future.thanks!!

    Unknown

    July 5, 2007 at 11:41 am

  9. I think the site is a rip off.  I ordered 2 prizes and never received either one.  I asked why and they never answered

    Dennis

    October 17, 2007 at 7:43 am

  10. My brother went on here and he got Flight Simulator X, this site is definitely not bogus…

    Brent

    October 17, 2007 at 10:18 pm

  11. what happened to the site? i played for several days and now it\’s gone. was i blocked or something?

    Unknown

    October 20, 2007 at 5:41 am

  12. I can\’t get into the site either.  I wonder if there is a server issue?  I type in the address and it says "Object moved here"  I click on "here" and it does nothing.  If anybody knows what is going on I would appreciate some explanation.  BTW: I love the site.  I have already won a set of digital earphones.  I got them last week in the mail.

    trumpman23

    October 25, 2007 at 9:37 pm

  13. HOW ARE YOU SOPPOSED TO GET ON THIS LIVE SEARCH CLUB. EVERY WAY I TRY IT SAYS CAME OPEN OR IT HAS BEEN CANCELLED. I PLAYED IT BEFORE WHEN IT FIRST CAME ON NO PROBLEM BUT NOW NO SHOW. THANKS

    FERN

    November 1, 2007 at 4:04 am

  14. You guys got rid of the XBox prize?  Man, you guys are terrible.

    Unknown

    November 2, 2007 at 7:21 pm

  15.  Does anyone have a contact address for this site? Me and quite a few more can`t get on the webb page anymore. I have over 10000 points saved and now cannot get back on the site. It keeps saying "error" "contact server.

    Unknown

    November 3, 2007 at 11:01 pm

  16. Does anyone know what is going on with this game????  I have played it and got some tickets and saving for an X Box and now can\’t get on anymore.  From what I understand they block people who cheat.  I was NOT cheating at all.  My game is honest…. What is their game???

    R

    November 4, 2007 at 9:11 pm

  17. I cant get on either. I never cheated.  I tried on a different computer that I had not played on before and it worked just fine.  I however was not able to log into my account.

    Unknown

    November 5, 2007 at 8:53 am

  18. Having the same problem as some people. I only joined yesterday, played all day and today I can\’t get on. I\’m getting the "object has move to here" page also!

    Amanda

    November 6, 2007 at 7:10 am

  19. I miss the games! I don\’t care about the points or free stuff, I just miss playing.  I also get the "moved to here" message and nothing works.  Any ideas?

    June

    November 6, 2007 at 3:39 pm

  20. I\’ve always enjoyed playing these games; and have never "cheated".  what is the deal, why can\’t I get on?  Is maintance being done or what?

    Kristen

    November 9, 2007 at 6:18 pm

  21. I can\’t get on live search club from firefox or internet explorer!!!!  I\’m addicted to seekado!!!!!  I need my fix!  On firefox, I\’m getting the "moved to here" message, but can\’t get anywhere…..and on IE, I get nothing!  I\’m frustrated!

    Rachel

    November 11, 2007 at 2:35 pm

  22. i heard that Live search club only gives out a certain number of tickets per kind of game like Flexicon you can only get about 11000 tickets if that is the only game you play and if you add all of the totals together it only comes out to about 31000 so it is impossible  to get a 360 how gay is that???

    Unknown

    November 12, 2007 at 9:31 am

  23. "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage" is the message I\’ve gotten for several days now.  I have over 19000 points accumulated and I\’m becoming concerned about Live Search Club also.  I, too, have never cheated with bots or anything else.  If someone comes up with the answer, please let us know!

    Miguel

    November 15, 2007 at 4:36 pm

  24.  
    I tried to contact support at the above address and received "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage".   What\’s up MS….I think you owe us all an explanation!  Please extend  us that courtesy……….thanks?

    Miguel

    November 15, 2007 at 4:39 pm

  25. For those of you who can\’t get on, try this. I
    spent several days thinking that I would never get the site to come
    back. I thought I would try deleting my temporary internet files and cookies, and the
    site was back!  It has gone “dead” on me a few times since, and every
    time I get it back by deleting my cookies.  If you don’t know how to do
    this, it’s usually under Tools, Internet Options, but it depends on the
    browser.
    I hope this helps!By the way, I\’m totally angry about the xbox 360 being pulled! 

    Unknown

    November 19, 2007 at 8:38 pm

  26. About 5 months ago I was playing all games nonstop, I had enough points to get the windows vista, and headphones. I never got either one. I contacted customer support and finally got an email telling me that my prizes were cancelled because I used bots. I dont even know what a bot is. I played all the games, put in all that time so they could call me cheater! This site is a bunch of BS! Don\’t waste your time!

    Unknown

    November 28, 2007 at 6:58 am

  27. ive had good success with this site. until now. i started playing when it first came out. not sure but i was probably one of the first 1000 ppl to sign up. i played and played and ordered head phones. got them 3 months later. cool right? well now i have been playing a lot lately to try and get some more cool things. mainly their wireless keyboard and their webcams. so i get up enough points to order the keyboard on the 4th of december and the webcam on the 8th. i have recieved no second confirmation emails for either. i would tell everyone to boycott the site since it seems they r jsut calling everyone an autoer but im not that type of person. i jsut want what i rightfully earned. it seems to me that msn and microsoft r in no way worried about their real players and only focus on the bots. and in the process call their real players bots.
     
    the games r easy and fun. some of the prizes r cool. but chances r u wont recieve them. i wouldnt waste my time if i was any one else. and im not wasting anymore of my time on that site until they send me some type of confirmation or explanation about my prizes.
     
    have fun ppl. dont get get ur hopes up about recieving cool things from them.

    userme5183

    December 9, 2007 at 11:22 am

  28. I\’m having the same problems connecting.  I have had it work… then not work…then work again… then not work.  Firefox has never worked for me, ie only intermittently.  I really enjoy the game (I like Flexicon) but it is frustrating that is sometimes there, sometimes not…  I guess the plus is that it keeps me from getting addicted!

    Kathleen

    December 13, 2007 at 4:27 pm

  29. I keep getting an error when I go to the site that says "object moved"

    Sandra

    December 15, 2007 at 10:21 am

  30. seems i was a little too hasty in my hatred for microsoft and accused them of not sending my prizes. well today i recieved 1 of the 4 things i ordered. i ordered the 2 webcams, a coffee mug, and wireless mouse and keyboard. today fedex delivered the lifecam vx6000 to me (but i cant seem to install it right). it was delivered 20 days after ordering. i ordered it on the 8th of decemeber and it got here today the 28th. thats fast. anyways here hope and luck to all who have ordered stuff. i apologize to microsoft.

    userme5183

    December 28, 2007 at 12:08 pm

  31. Ever since I ordered 1 lousy prize I have been unable to play any games when I sign in. I quit playing for 2 months thinking the problem would clear up….yeah right! If I do not sign and play as a guest I can play all the games even Seekado. I don\’t know what kind of customer support was set up by this guy before he left Microsoft but my acct is still screwed up. I have written and written Customer Support and still nothing is resolved.

    Nancy

    January 13, 2008 at 7:37 am

  32. Absolutely absurd!!! Can\’t even play that freaking dang chicken game-that was my favorite. What is wrong w/those guys?!??! For the past 2 weeks, I try to get on, just automatically directs me to the msn website. Been playing since since last fall, had just saved up enough to get a shirt, a journal/pen and a tumbler – – well, I get the 1st two, still awaiting the last. I see all these people sit there and rack up thousands upon thousands of points…yet, I barely ave any and I can\’t freaking get on?! I am NOT a bot, stupid, stupid…stuuupid live search club 😦

    Seanda

    January 26, 2008 at 10:05 pm

  33. Well, I just ow wrote them – I\’m gueing I\’m a bot, too??????? Whatever………

    Seanda

    January 26, 2008 at 10:37 pm

  34. Oh, for those having trouble, which seems to be alot, and someone below asked – their e-mail is: LiveSearchClub at incentivelogic dot com , as it came w/my journal/pen set. Hope it helps 😉

    Seanda

    January 26, 2008 at 10:41 pm

  35. I spent alot of time playing all the different games.  At the end of November I had enough points to get a Zune.  Ordered it on November 29, 2007.  I got an email that said it would be shipped January 20th.  I still  don\’t have it.  I have sent multiple emails to Live Search Club – IF I get a reply it\’s an automated one – no real answers – not even to be accused of cheating!  I have 17,000 more points and don\’t know what to do with them.  I wonder if any of the charities are getting THEIR points!  I even got an email to participate in some \’search  survey\’ for the next couples months for an extra 1000 points.  Sure – and what am I supposed to do with the points.  Too bad Microsoft doesn\’t come through on their promises…  

    Unknown

    March 10, 2008 at 4:28 pm

  36. im back on here again to complain. i just spent about 20 days playing their games to rack up 15k more ticket to make my total 20k tickets to order a zune. i ordered it and on may 12th and its the 14th now. i have yet to recieve a confirmation email of any sort. to date i have ordered and recieved the 2 webcams, a pair of headphones, a coffee mug and donated a few tickets to charity. everything else i ordered recieved a confirmation email minutes after ordering it. but yet with my first "big" order i dont recieve an email? i hope i didnt waste my time or am being too hasty like i was before. ill email them later and see if i can get an actual response instead of just the automater one they send out. hopefully it wont be 4 months after i email them and a month after i recieve what i ordered like it was before.

    userme5183

    May 14, 2008 at 3:25 pm

  37. forgot to add in the previous post that they arent all too bad (hopefully) as i also ordered the wireless keyboard and mouse they had on there and since they ran out of stock of the one i ordered they sent me a different one and also refunded my 5k tickets. im hoping they havent become bad.

    userme5183

    May 14, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  38. Ok,  I admit I\’m not the brightest so someone give me an explanation of what a "bot" is.  And, from reading the comments, I guess I\’m not the only one who doesn\’t know.  By the by, When is chictionary coming back and when will I stop seeing "The Server is not responding."  If this is a Microsoft project/site and Microsoft is supposed to be such a fabulous company, it follows that writing games and keeping a site working should be kids play.  Lets get with it, Microsoft.

    Unknown

    May 29, 2008 at 2:39 pm

  39. I opened an account and played for several months and accumulated over 26,000 points.  Suddenly a week ago I can\’t get into my account and it appears to have been eliminated.  I have called Microsoft and emailed customer services many times and have yet to get an explanation.  What gives?

    Unknown

    June 6, 2008 at 1:52 pm

  40. oh, my gosh, ohhhhhh my gosh – i fond out how to GET BACK INTO THE live search club games!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if you are/have had the problem like I have had, and it seems that some people who\’ve left comments have had – well, my good friends, check this out —–>>>>> if you\’ve been still recieving e-mail updates from live search club, open up your e-mail, and scroll all the way down to the bottom – click on "UNSUBSCRIBE" – it will take you directly to your account – click (at the top) on GAMES, and there you go – seriously, i\’m back to playing that super-cool chicken game – sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hope this\’ll help some of ya\’ll 🙂

    Seanda

    June 10, 2008 at 6:28 pm

  41. I have been tripping around reading a lot of comments about Live Search Club. A lot of people complain much about something that is free. People! Never look a gift horse in the mouth. If you\’re playing games then you must not have a lot to do with your time. Live Search Club has given you something to do with that free time, say thank you. If you\’re earning points and spending them on free stuff just say thank you. If your FREE stuff isn\’t getting to you, say thank you anyway, you\’ve been entertained. Some of the games you play, you  get to learn stuff you didn\’t know. Say thank you. Hey folks , it\’s all good.

    BARBARA

    November 6, 2008 at 9:53 am

  42. […] Bing, a marketing program I created with a small group of co-workers five years ago under the name Live Search Club, is closing in May. Very few marketing programs endure more than a few months, so I’m proud […]

  43. I want reading through and I conceive this website got some truly useful stuff on it!

    http://andcarinsurancequotes.com

    March 19, 2012 at 1:26 pm


Leave a Reply

