Neal Freeland

Engineering/marketing manager, family guy. My personal blog with a few work thoughts mixed in.

Hello Zango

with 2 comments

I’ve been on the new job 5 weeks already, so it’s about time to give an update. I joined Zango, a 200 person, privately held company in Bellevue, WA, as VP of Business Development. It’s a bit of a strange title for what I do. I’m in the biz dev org, but I run the outbound marketing function managing our display and search advertising campaigns across the world. They didn’t want to call me VP of Marketing, though, because there’s someone (she’s really good) in charge of Products and Marketing (product management and public relations). But my job is pretty similar to what I was doing at Microsoft, only for a different product.
 
It’s been a great experience so far. I’m learning a ton of detail about digital marketing. There’s a perception that people who stay too long and get too high at Microsoft can’t leave because they don’t really know how to get anything done anymore. That could have been me – I was at Ad:tech in NYC last week and was amazed to see how much activity there is in online advertising, and how much work goes on between companies. I’m sure I’ve learned more in the last month than I would have in 6 months if I had stayed at Microsoft. I’m also really enjoying having direct impact on the senior leadership, helping for example to define our 2008 strategy. I feel very lucky to have this job and look forward to it each day.
 
Right now I’m on the road. In addition to NYC, I visited Montreal last week to introduce myself to our teams there, and am currently sitting in a little apartment in Tel Aviv. I took a quick swim in the Mediterranean today, and will go into the office tomorrow (Sunday since Fri and Sat are the weekend in Israel) to meet the 10 people on my team who are based here.
 
Written by nealfreeland

November 10, 2007 at 9:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. "a quick swim in the meditteranean" – wow, that sounds nice! ; )

    Jonathan

    November 10, 2007 at 10:24 am

  2. Hi,Do you need advertising displays, screen advertisings, digital sign, digital signages and LCDs? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[hbfhcjcdjdhaai]

    Unknown

    September 26, 2008 at 12:35 am


Leave a Reply

